#yogagoals

So I’ve been inspired by the IG community on many fronts, my diet & food presentation, the quality of my photography & style, & slowly but surely, my fitness. I’ve been following tons of IG yogis lately & am amazed by what they can do with their body; and it makes me want to work towards that.

20130929-012404.jpg I started with my bum up against the wall working on controlling my legs in different positions. Then I started working in engaging the core & moving the bum away from wall so it was above my shoulders. I also started working on my shoulder stability, pushing my elbows into the floor & giving my spine the freedom to lengthen in this position. Eventually getting my head off the floor.

Some great hashtags to search are: #yoga (obviously lol), #inversionarmy, #inversion, #headstand, #forearmstand, #handstand & #yogaintransit (which are IG videos of various poses & the movements to connect them together).

What I love about doing inversions is that it truly changes my perspective. It’s like an instant mood lift! I feel so much better after, calmer & more confident. It’s a great chance to focus on my breathing (& the inversions help when I’m congestion) and the fact that I’m concentrating on controlling all of my body means that the stuff that was stuck on repeat in my mind, shuts off for the precious minutes I stay upside down.

20130929-013035.jpg
Some people whose pics inspire me thru my IG feed: @patrickbeach, @mackenzieyoga, @masumi_g, @beachyogagirl, @laurasykora, & @yogabeyond, @om_yogi.

So I’ve been practicing frequently, up until this week when I started feeling weak & ill. & today I was able to finally have my whole body floating away from the wall & completely straight! I’m so happy! Will definitely be continuing my work on these goals, including strengthening my forearm stands & moving into handstands.

20130929-013642.jpg A fantastic Sunday filled with yummy food, back bend work & puppy cuddles!

Leave a Reply

