Food Art: Salad arranging

I was asked today to go into more detail about how I make my salads look so good… And I’m going to attempt to explain my process, but like anything creative it is hard to put into words because it is made with “feeling”.
Step one is plate selection. I prefer solid colours over patterns, and square plates over round. (Of course there are exceptions to every rule & I’ll show you a couple examples).

So tonight’s salad… It all began with a look in my fridge at what could be combined with a couple items I purchased on the way home. I bought chive & onion cream cheese, alfalfa sprouts, & “everything” ritz.

20130919-211749.jpg I used arugula I had in the fridge as my salad base, I like to bunch it up in one corner on my square plates, then I added red pepper & caramelized onion hummus to my plate, & blood orange segments & alfalfa sprouts to my arugula.

20130919-212750.jpg With circle plates I tend to pile my greens in the center & my various toppings around them.
For tonight’s salad, I thought yellow tomatoes would be a lovely counter point to the red flesh of the blood orange.

20130919-213544.jpg & since no salad is ruined by adding cheese (in this case honey goat cheese) or avocado… I added both!

Some exceptions to my plain plate preference (it’s funny because they were both taken at my friends house where I take food over & we picnic in her yard lol)

20130919-214802.jpg

20130919-215257.jpg

I finished off my dinner plate with the cream cheese, ritz & a small portion of chicken stew from last night (although its mostly veg this evening lol).

20130919-215828.jpg I like to dress my avocado with a dash of something, & tonight it was Bragg’s sea kelp seasoning, pink Himalayan salt & pepper. Used a bit of leftover vinaigrette to dress my salad (buffalo sauce, honey mustard, lemon, & Bragg’s ACV) from last night & added poppy seed dressing & a bit more vinegar.

I’m also inspired by people I follow on IG, I highly recommend you do some searching. I follow a lot of vegan/vegetarian people but that’s because I think colourful fruits & veggies are more photogenic.

20130919-221726.jpg One of my favourite accounts, I love the way she arranges things on her plate. So neat & organized. The fanning technique is to die for!

I tell people that I make my plate like I would a painting, trying to create a visual balance as well as moments that spark interest ( by using contrast with either texture or colour).

Leave a Reply

