It’s a marathon not a sprint…

Playing poker always gets me philosophizing. After all it is a game that is much like life. How well you do depends on not only your skill level, but also in how well you read people & it occasionally requires a bit of luck.
When playing tournament poker, it’s not so much about each hand but how well you play generally. Trying not to lose more than you win & trying to maximize the chips you can win in each by your style of betting.
I also find it is a challenge to keep the positive attitude & focus to win in the long run. Some nights I listen to music to be a touch distracted or like tonight I check on my social media while I’m not in a hand.

20130622-183524.jpg
Start of the night things were going my way but now the cards aren’t coming. So I’ve had to switch up my play. Folding more hands & playing better starting hands instead of the wider range I was using in the beginning. Life is the same way, sometimes you can do things with a cocky confident style & sometimes you have to be humble & cautious. It’s all about finding the balance in the flow of the universe around you. Sometimes I’m more in sync with the cards & feel like I can predict what comes. But today they are silent, not speaking to me, not listening to me call them out. But that’s ok… another thing that poker has taught me… Patience.

Leave a Reply

