Food as art

So my food journey began with my insta friends but flourished under the inspiration I found on IG. Being able to follow chefs & food artists (I’ll explain later why I use that term) around the world has given me so much to think about with regards to my plates and their aesthetic.

These are some of the first foodies that I was inspired by…

20130121-180747.jpg

While on a trip to NYC with a friend who was having oral surgery & was stuck on a liquid diet, I ate raw & juiced with her. I felt so great & energized that the whole week felt wonderful. I started to think that my body ran better on raw fuel. Maybe it was the limited dairy, meat & starch diet that had me feeling less bloated, & minimized my mood swings & energy levels. I think the raw zucchini noodles at the Water Well sealed the deal. They were so yummy! When I returned home to Bermuda I was able to cut out half my portion of pasta & replaced it with raw grated zucchini when making spaghetti.

I first started following foodies & chefs, looking at flavour combos and trying to find a style that felt authentic & exciting to me. As much as I do love meat and there are certain dishes that I couldn’t imagine never eating again, but as I have followed more healthy eaters, vegetarians & vegans I realized that it was a way that I’d like to eat. It seemed easy to go more raw, especially as it made me feel better. I started looking at all the veggies at the market as possible stars of my plates. I became willing to try everything raw, without drowning it in dressing, appreciating the flavour that was naturally in each bite.

To encourage myself to eat many different colour veggies I started using blue plates that my grandma gave me (allowing my colours to pop off my plate), & I started following some food as art IGers.

Here is my shout out to a few of them…

20130121-234452.jpg

One of my favourites @alifeunhurried

20130212-165044.jpg
As you can see from the pictures there is a reason why I call them food artists.

I really enjoy using food to cheer me up, & in the past that would include eating junk, but now I get a thrill from “painting” my plate with veggies.

7 thoughts on “Food as art

  1. Hey, This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined onto your site and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks! Thanks and more thanks!

    Like

  2. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems
    as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on
    just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?
    Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Not every post can be long. Sometimes I like to make them short & sweet. But don’t worry I’ll expand on the idea in the future, my love for IG/social media knows no bounds!! Please come back & check out the blog again. Thanks for the constructive criticism!

      Like

Leave a Reply

